Tags

, , , ,

 

Talking about music and sound in class inspired me to do a song for my second self portrait. Although this is just a simple folk song and not nearly as experimental as the works of John Cage, it fits into one of my favorite styles of music: Lo-fi. The group who originally released this song, Neutral Milk Hotel, didn’t need to fancy recording studio or an expensive setup to get their records out. The same goes for another one of my favorite bands, the Mountain Goats, whose early recordings were done directly to tape through the built in condenser mic of an old Panasonic RTX-FT500. I tried to emulate these kinds of sounds by recording this on a cellphone rather than using a real microphone. Even then, it’s still much higher fidelity than the originals which came out in the mid-90’s.

 

For CP-102

